First Grade

SUPER excited for back to school night!

SUPER excited for back to school night!

Sonja and her first grade teacher.

Sonja and her first grade teacher.

First day of first grade!

First day of first grade!

Today is the second day of first grade for Sonja. We had a great time last week going to back-to-school night. We met her teacher, found Sonja’s desk and locker, and most importantly Sonja got to see some of the friends she missed all summer.

By Monday night Sonja was convinced that first grade was going to be horrible. She wasn’t going to have any friends and no way would her first grade teacher be as wonderful as her Kindergarten teacher! Seriously, there were a lot of tears, emotions, and reassurance from me that everything would be fine. The cloud hung over us literally and figuratively as Sonja got ready for school yesterday. She was still convinced she was going to hate it and it was actually raining outside which complicated my plans for getting adorable photos of my first grader.

But of course, just as I predicted (because I am wise mother right?), first grade is the best thing ever. It’s super fun. Her friends are awesome. And her teacher is really nice.

I totally get Sonja’s nervousness before starting a new school year. And I did my best to let her feel all the feelings and cry it out. But at some point I had to just tell her to go to bed because it was clear I wasn’t helping her feel better. I’m so glad she shook off her worries and enjoyed herself. I’m pretty sure I need to do a lot more of that myself!

But this isn’t about me! This is about Sonja and she is loving first grade.

Leave a Reply

