Cinco de Mayo

I decided to make some Mexican food today and throw a little fiesta at home. Of course it turned into Sonja not eating anything, Kevin eating and reading the newspaper, and me reading a magazine while pretending to watch the millioneth episode of “My Little Pony” with Sonja. Anyway, the enchiladas were delicious if I do say so myself. I’ve been tweaking this recipe for years. I think I’ve finally got it where I want it! I’m looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow.

Chicken Enchiladas

1 pound/package boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 medium onion chopped
4 cloves garlic chopped
1 can diced green chiles
1 can enchilada sauce (I use mild because Kevin doesn’t like the spice!)
Juice of 1 lime
2 cups of your favorite cheese shredded and divided (I use mild cheddar)
1 package of taco/fajita size flour tortilla (You’ll need about 10 tortillas)

Put the chicken, onion, and garlic in the crock pot for 8-12 hours on low or 4-6 on high. (You could cook it on the stove top too. I just find the crock pot does a great job and makes the chicken really easy to shred.)

Heat oven to 350 and grease a 9×13 baking dish.

Shred the chicken once it’s cooked. Combine the chicken, green chiles, enchilada sauce, lime juice, and 1 cup cheese in a bowl. Divide this mixture between the tortillas. Roll each tortilla and place seam side down in the pan.

Sprinkle remaining cup of cheese on top of the enchiladas. Bake in the oven, uncovered, for 15 minutes. Switch the oven to BROIL and cook another 5 minutes or until the cheese on top is bubbly.

One response

  1. Our hamburgers were good but I wish we would have taken you up on the invitation and had the enchiladas.They sound delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

