A Note to the Guy at the Honda Dealer

Please do not take offense to this. Your people did what I assume is excellent work on my car. Although I’m still not happy about coming in for a $40 oil change and leaving with $750 of other stuff done to my car. Yes, it needed 2 tires. And yes, the 60,000 mile maintenance probably was necessary because I drive a lot and I want my car to last until Sonja gets a driver’s license, but the sticker shock hurts.

My annoyance comes from when I picked up my car. You and your co-workers (one of whom was a woman) were huddled around talking football. And when you told me this and I asked if you were talking about Peyton Manning/Tim Tebow you gave me that, “Oh look a girl wants to talk about football,” smile that I hate. You said no you were talking about the Saints coach getting suspended for next season. And when I proceeded to engage you in conversation because since becoming a parent most of my friends are women now and don’t care to talk trade deadlines and box scores, I take sports talk wherever I can get it, but you just kept giving me that chiding smile. I hate that smile. And even more I hate that attitude.

Yes I’m a girl. Yes I don’t always know as much as my male counterparts but I’m pretty sure that a third of the people I follow on Twitter are somehow sports related. I love baseball the most with football coming a close second. And I admit that I’m a NASCAR fan. I’m a Ford girl all the way. I don’t pretend to know a thing about basketball. But I grew up with a sports obsessed dad who passed it on to me. I check scores in the morning. I read sports op ed. I listen to Sports Talk on the radio. I don’t get to watch as much as I used to because I’m juggling a 4-year-old and sometimes it’s just easier to turn on Spongebob even though the Bears are on at the same time.

My own husband doesn’t care about sports at all. (Although after 11 years he’s starting to come around.) He respects my knowledge and interests and doesn’t care if I know more about it than he does.  Change your attitude boys. I’m just as smart as you. And most of it is speculation and opinion anyway when you’re reading/listening to this stuff. Don’t give me that smile. And when a girl has heard of Sean Payton and his extra pay for hard hitting football you should probably engage her. In my experience there aren’t that many of us out there.

4 responses

  1. Preach it, sister. This is EXACTLY how I feel every time I buy strings at a guitar store. NOT ONLY BOYS KNOW HOW TO PLAY AN INSTRUMENT! I always want to say – hey conceited dude with the lip ring – I can play more instruments than you, better than you.

Leave a Reply

